Fight Like A Girl – Clementine Ford

Summary from Goodreads:

Online sensation, fearless feminist heroine and scourge of trolls and misogynists everywhere, Clementine Ford is a beacon of hope and inspiration to thousands of Australian women and girls. Her incendiary debut Fight Like A Girl is an essential manifesto for feminists new, old and soon-to-be, and exposes just how unequal the world continues to be for women. Crucially, it is a call to arms for all women to rediscover the fury that has been suppressed by a society that still considers feminism a threat.

I picked this book up a few months ago, read the first chapter, and then put it down again. I guess I just wasn’t really in the mood for it and it did feel a bit like reading ‘Feminism 101’. NOTE: THAT SHOULD NOT DISCOURAGE YOU FROM READING IT. A few months later, I saw it in the ‘hot picks’ section at my local library and picked it up again and I AM SO GLAD I DID.

Ford’s writing is punchy, sarcastic and incredibly accessible without dumbing down the big theoretical issues too much. In many ways this book is perfect for teenagers (I was going to write teenage girls but it’s essential that boys read this kind of stuff too) and I wish that it had been around when I was younger. If you are well-versed in feminist theory, you are unlikely to learn anything new here, but Ford’s arguments are well-summarised and she adds a personal touch to many of them by sharing her personal experiences. Importantly, Ford acknowledges that she is an able-bodied, middle-class, heterosexual, cisgender white woman and that unpacking privilege is an incredibly difficult but important task. Reading this book reminded me that Ford’s particular brand of feminism is not one that all women identify with and many of the ideas I take for granted are in fact quite controversial.

My key criticism of this book is that it was a bit repetitive at times. In fact, it was written like a very long Facebook rant and I would have appreciated a little more structure. This humour-driven, rant-like style works well for short, snappy pieces online or in the newspaper, but in a longer form, it can be exhausting to read. Criticisms aside, I think it is incredibly important that people read and discuss this book and I am so happy to see that it is selling so well here in Australia. Also, on a side note, Clementine is a lovely woman who often comes into the bookstore where I work and you should support her by reading and discussing her book!

Have you read Fight Like A Girl? What did you think? Would love to hear your thoughts (even and especially those that differ from mine). 

~Anna

Published by

Anna

Anna. Melbourne. Bookseller. Student. Serial tsundokist.

2 thoughts on “Fight Like A Girl – Clementine Ford”

  1. It’s kind of exhausting knowing that “feminism is still a threat” – seeing as how I was giving speeches about being a feminist at my high school over 20 years ago and had losers disparaging me under their breath as I walked by. I wish the pace of change was faster sometimes! Sometimes I feel like our world is one step forward, two steps back. I’m not doom and gloom all the time, I swear – I just have my moments. Gotta remember the moral arc of the universe is long but it bends towards justice, as Dr. King said. Anyway, good review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is incredibly frustrating how slowly change occurs, but at the same time I have hope for the future. The fact that this book has been the #1 bestseller at my bookstore for several months now means that people are finally having important conversations about feminism. Still, there is so much to be angry about and the amount of vitriolic hate mail that Clementine Ford receives on a daily basis is sickening.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

