Liebster Blog Award

Hi lovely readers! So I’ve just been nominated for my first award, which is very exciting. A huge thank you to Alyssa over at The Ultimate Book Geek for the nomination (she has a wonderful blog, which I definitely recommend checking out).

The Rules: 

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  3. Nominate 11 other people (preferably those with under 200 followers)
  4. Give your nominees 11 different questions to answer.

The Questions: 

1. Why did you start your blog? 

I started this blog towards the end of last year as a way of fighting tsundokism (that is, the act of buying books and not reading them, instead letting them pile up unread on bookshelves). I also think that writing reviews helps me to remember and think critically about the books I read.

2. If you had a chance to spend a day with any writer, alive or dead, who would you choose? 

If you had asked me which author, alive or dead, I would like to have dinner with, I probably would have said Virginia Woolf or maybe Stephen Hawking, but if I were stuck with them for the whole day, I’d probably go with Bill Bryson. I just think he’d be really great company and full of fun facts about everything.

3. Book subscription boxes: yay or nay? (Have you ever subscribed to one? Do you want to?)

To be honest, I don’t know too much about book subscription boxes. I’ve never subscribed to one before, but I think it sounds like fun.

4. What’s your favourite genre? 

I don’t really have a favourite genre to be honest – my tastes are very eclectic and I like to read a mix of fiction and non-fiction. Sorry, I know that’s not a very good answer!

5. Do you like to see film adaptations of your favourite books? 

Yes, I do! Although I think that the book is always better than the movie…

6. Have you read a book over a dozen times? If so, which book? 

It’s a bit of a cliché, but I’ve read the Harry Potter books more times than I can count. Those books basically defined my childhood.

7. Name a book you DNF’ed recently.

For some reason I couldn’t get through ‘The Blazing World’ by Siri Hustvedt. Don’t get me wrong, it’s exceptionally well-written and the idea is fascinating, but I just really wasn’t in the mood for it. At some point I would like to go back and finish it.

8. What was the last book that totally blew your mind? 

I recently read ‘When Breath Becomes Air’ by Paul Kalanithi, which was one of the most heartbreakingly beautiful memoirs I have ever read (you can find my review here).

9. What’s the last book you recommended to someone? 

I honestly have no idea. I work in a bookstore and so I spend a lot of time recommending books to different people and I am not very good at keeping track of all my recommendations. Sorry, I know that this is a terrible response!

10. Do you have a favourite bookmark? 

Confession: I dog-ear my pages instead of using bookmarks. I know, it’s terrible! I just always lose my bookmarks and I’m really bad at breaking habits.

11. Have you ever thought about starting a book club? 

I’ve thought about it and I think it would be great fun. Maybe some day!

My Nominations: 

Big Reading Life | Musings From Abroad Blog | Red Lips and Bibliomaniacs | Consumed By Ink | The Book Whisperer | Cleopatra Loves Books | MN Bernard Books | Reading Every Night | The Owl on the Bookshelf | Literary Weaponry | Deborahjs

My Questions: 

1. Do you read one book at a time or multiple?
2. What was your favourite childhood book?
3. Which author do you think is totally overrated and why?
4. What was the last book you read that made you laugh a lot?
5. What was the last book that made you cry?
6. Are you a fast or slow reader?
7. Name a book you DNF’ed recently.
8. What is your go-to genre for long-haul flights?
9. What is the most recent classic you read and what did you think of it?
10. What is next on your TBR?
11. Do you have a favourite bookshop? Why is it your favourite?

Once again, thank you to Alyssa for the nomination! I had a lot of fun answering these questions and I hope you will too.

~Anna

Published by

Anna

Anna. Melbourne. Bookseller. Student. Serial tsundokist.

7 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award”

  1. First of all, I adore your blog name. Obviously. 😉 Yay! I fellow tsundokist! I found your blog via your nomination and Laila.

    I totally agree with Bill Bryson. He’s a wonderful and quirky author. I’m certain I’d love a day with him. But you earmark your pages?! I guess as long as that is only for books you own, well, I’ll give you a pass. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jackie! I thought I was being super original when I came up with the name, but obviously you beat me to it. Nice to meet you and thanks for stopping by! 😛

      Bill Bryson is just such a curmudgeonly old man and I love his sense of humour. I think it would be great fun to listen to his endless stream of fun facts. And I know, I know… dog-earing pages is terrible! I’m trying to break this habit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

