Eligible – Curtis Sittenfeld

Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice may have been written over 200 years ago, but it has been reimagined and resurrected countless times – as a Bollywood extravaganza (Bride and Prejudice), a gory zombie novel (Pride and Prejudice and Zombies) and best of all, as a BBC mini-series featuring Colin Firth and a wet shirt. Now comes Curtis Sittenfeld’s Eligible, which moves this classic story to that roiling hotbed of societal intrigue, the Cincinnati suburbs.

The basic story is very familiar – a silly woman plots to marry off her five unwed daughters to rich bachelors, couples fall in and out of love, and the grouchy and handsome Mr. Darcy reveals his heart of gold – however Curtis Sittenfeld manages to give it a hearty and original update. I won’t go into detail about the plot because I think it’s pretty fun to see how the story has been reimagined, but I will say that I think this modernisation is lighthearted, fresh, and funny. The writing is not spectacular and it is by no means Curtis Sittenfeld’s best work, but it made me chuckle to myself a few times and it made a 12-hour flight pass very quickly. The final verdict: Curtis Sittenfeld + Jane Austen modernisations + long haul flights = the ultimate guilty pleasure. 

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think? And what do you think of Jane Austen modernisations in general? Let me know what you think.

~Anna

Published by

Anna

Anna. Melbourne. Bookseller. Student. Serial tsundokist.

4 thoughts on “Eligible – Curtis Sittenfeld”

  1. I general I am very leery about Austen modernizations, as I would much prefer to reread the original since I love them so much. But I can see how this would make for very good in-flight distraction and entertainment (and when I fly I need all of that I can get!) I’m glad you enjoyed it and glad to hear a positive report about it!

    Like

    1. I know that most of them are terrible, but they are definitely my guilty pleasures. I totally agree though, the original Jane Austen novels are so much better. Which is your favourite?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

